SFTA Committees
From the Santa Fe Trail Association By-Laws:

Section 1. NAMES, AUTHORITY --The standing committees of the Association shall be a Nominating Committee, Awards Committee, Budget Committee, Mapping/Marking Committee, Membership Committee, Preservation Committee, and Publications Committee. Additional committees may be constituted by the Board as deemed necessary to carry out the purposes of the Association. 

-- Each committee shall be headed by a chairperson who shall be responsible to the Board. Chairpersons and members of each committee shall be appointed by the president with approval of the Board. At least one member of the Board shall be a member of each committee. 

*Designates Standing Committees according to the SFTA By-Laws

You can contact any committee or sub-committee through 


The current committees are:



*Awards & Santa Fe Trail Hall of Fame Committee

*Budget Committee

  • Funding/Special Appeals

Education Committee

Events Planning Committees

  • Rendezvous Planning Committee
  • 2021-2025 200th Commemoration Task Force
  • Symposium 2023
  • Symposium 2025

*Mapping/Marking Committee

  • Mapping:
  • Geocache Task Force
  • Interpretation/Waysides
  • DAR Task Force

*Membership Committee

*Nominating Committee

Personnel Committee

*Preservation Committee

*Publications Committee (Includes Wagon Tracks/Website/Social Media)

*Publicity Committee

Research Committee

  • Scholarly Research Grants Review
  • Acquisitions/Archives

Special Appointees:

  • Partnership for National Trails System (PNTS) Representative
  • Policy and Procedures
  • Resources (Speakers, Living Historians, Programs, etc.)
  • Editing of Minutes: Appointed at end of each Board Meeting
  • Wagon Tracks Editorial Board
  • Jr. Wagon Master Director